Robert Peters Award

Current recipient
About the award
Instructions to nominators
Past winners


2015 Recipient/Récipiendaire de l'année 2015

Sophie Chiasson-Gould

University of Ottawa

For the paper:
Chiasson-Gould, S., Blais, J.M. and Poulain, A.J. 2014. Dissolved Organic Matter Kinetically Controls Mercury Bioavailability to Bacteria. Environmental Science and Technology 48: 3153-3161.
click for link

Back to top


Robert Henry Peters

Robert Henry Peters (1946-1996)

McGill University (1974-1996)

His life & career:
Kalff, J. 1996. Obituary for Robert Henry Peters. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 53:1692-1694.
click to download PDF

Pace, M.L. and P. delGiorgio. 1996. In Memoriam Dr. Robert H. Peters. Mar. Ecol. Prog. Ser. 142:1.
click to download PDF

delGiorgio, P., Y. Prairie and M.L. Pace. 1997. Robert H. Peters honored with ASLO’s citation for scientific excellence. ASLO Bulletin 6(1):23-25. (Copyright 1997 by the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography, Inc.)
click to download PDF

Downing, J.A. 1997. In Memorium: Robert Henry Peters (1946-1996). ASLO Bulletin 6(1):25-27. (Copyright 1997 by the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography, Inc.)
click to download PDF

Back to top


This award recognizes the best aquatic sciences paper published in the preceding year by a Canadian student or a student working in Canada. The student must be an undergraduate or graduate student, and must be first author on the publication.

A paper can be considered for the Peters’ Award if it is published within the time period of one year prior to the deadline for nominations. A paper is considered “published” once it is posted on-line by the journal or appears in hardcopy, whichever occurs first. A single body of work may only be considered for nomination once.

The nomination consists of a submission of the paper, typically from the student’s supervisor. Nominations may be accompanied by a cover letter (not to exceed one page, single-spaced, 12-pt Times New Roman font, 1-inch margins) outlining the quality, importance and impact of the paper.

The value of the award is $500 and a complimentary one-year membership in the Society, to be presented at the annual meeting of SCL/CCFFR where the student must present a summary of their paper.

Timelines: A call for nominations will typically be made in early September, and successful candidates will be informed by early October prior to abstract submission deadlines for the upcoming SCL/CCFFR meeting, where the recipient will attend and present their work.

Back to top

Past winners

2014 - Dominic Vachon
2013 - Zofia Taranu
2012 - Jennifer Korosi
2011 - Adam Jeziorski
2010 - Henry F. Wilson
2009 - Jason Venkiteswaran
2008 - Mark Graham
2007 - Greg Silsbe

Back to top

Donation to Peters’ Student Award

This award is facilitated by the generous donations of our membership. Please donate!

Donation Peters’ Student Award

Back to top