Frank Rigler Award

NRC Research Press proudly sponsors the Rigler Award


2015 Recipient/Récipiendaire de l'année 2015

Daniel Schindler

Professor, Aquatic & Fishery Sciences/Department of Biology, University of Washington

The Frank Rigler Award is the highest honour given by the Society of Canadian Limnologists. It was first presented in 1984 to recognize and honor major achievements in the field of limnology by Canadians or those working in Canada. Emphasis in selection is given to established aquatic scientists with a proven record of contribution to the field of aquatic sciences, whose work is widely recognized for its influence and importance. The winner of this award will give an overview on their research during the plenary session of the annual meeting of SCL/CCFFR, and will receive complimentary registration at the meeting and a one-year membership with the Society.

Frank Harold Rigler (1928-1982)
University of Toronto (1957-1976)
McGill University (1976-1982)
His life & career: Peters, R.H. 1983. Obituary for Frank Harold Rigler. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 40: 252.

Back to top

Frank H. Rigler

Frank H. Rigler

Click to view Obituary


A nomination for the Frank Rigler Award shall consist of:

  1. A cover letter, not to exceed two pages in length (single-spaced, 12-pt Times New Roman font, 1-inch margins), describing clearly how the nominee has made a lasting contribution to the field of limnology, either as a Canadian citizen abroad or to the field of limnology in Canada. Contributions that should be highlighted in the nomination can include (but are not limited to) evidence of work that has a scope that is both broad and of high-impact; evidence of work that has directly influenced aquatic science policy, and major public outreach initiatives involving the candidate that increase awareness regarding the importance of freshwater resources to Canadians. The cover letter must also confirm the nominee’s commitment to attend the upcoming society meeting and, if selected, present the Rigler lecture.
  2. A CV covering the applicant’s full scientific career that highlights employment history, publication record, funding held, contributions to training of students, invited lectures and contributions to public outreach, honours and prizes, and journal editorships and reviewing.


A call for nominations will be made annually during the last week of June, with a nomination submission deadline set for the second Friday in September. The evaluation committee will evaluate nominations and announce a recipient by the end of September.

Back to top

Past Laureates/Récipiendaires des années précédentes

2014 – F. Pick
2013 – R. Hesslein
2012 – Paul del Giorgio
2011 – H. MacIsaac
2010 – J. Rasmussen
2009 – C.A. Kelly and W.M. Rudd
2008 – B. Keller
2007 – P. Leavitt
2006 – R. Hecky
2005 – Y. Prairie
2004 – W. G. Sprules
2003 – D. Muir
2002 – J. Valentyne
2001 – P. Dillon
2000 – D. Lean
1999 – E. Fee
1998 – N. Yan
1997 – A. Tessier
1996 – D. Planas
1995 – J.P. Smol
1994 – E.E. Prepas
1993 – R.H. Peters
1992 – W.F. Vincent
1991 – No Award
1990 – K. Patalas
1989 – J. Kalff
1988 – J.O. Nriagu
1987 – T.G. Northcote
1986 – R.A. Vollenweider
1985 – No Award
1984 – D.W. Schindler

Back to top